Leo’s favorite soup recipe and sponge stamping activity

When I saw the sunny weather outside, we ran out for some fresh air with Leo. It was going to be Leo’s first time to explore snow. (There is still a lot of snow outside)  I put on his gloves for the first time, even that was a lot of fun for him. I explained they were socks for our hands and that was very explanatory. He was giggling already before we went downstairs by looking at his hand socks. I didn’t let him off of his stroller because the ground was very icy but I gave him snowballs and he was very very happy to play with snow while mommy was skiing on ice to the supermarket : ) After we bought some bakery, we came back home and made a delicious vegetable soup. Leo loves this soup and I thought it would be perfect after some play with brrrr snow. It is a very simple recipe.

The ingredients are:

500 ml ( 2 cups) of milk

1 small finely chopped onion

1 potato (grated)

1 carrot (grated)

1 1/2 tablespoon flour

1 tablespoon butter

2 tablespoon olive or vegetable oil

1 teaspoon salt

hot water

chopped parsley if desired.

Put the chopped onions, butter and oil into the saucepan. After  a minute of stirring add flour and salt.

Then add all the ingredients after a minute or so.

 

The amount of the water depends on the desired thickness of the soup. I add 500 ml (2 cups)

Then leave to boil until the vegetables are soft enough. That takes about 15 minutes.

I made up this recipe for my son. Because he likes vegetables but doesn’t like milk. He gets some milk from the soup at least. I have some other recipes for giving him milk. I’ll share them later.

I hope you enjoy this recipe.  All kinds of feedback will be appreciated.

After the soup, we rolled up our sleeves for some sponge stamping. I gave leo sheets of butcher’s paper, stamps and paint. This was our first time of stamping and he was a bit observer rather than participating. I showed him how to do it and he wanted me to show again and again. It took him a while to get his hands dirty with paint. But then it was SOME dirt that I had to clean the paint from his hair and even from his ears : )

Here you can see white paint on his lips:

 

This kind of art activities are good for  fine motor skills, creativity, recognition of colors, identifying shapes, satisfaction on task completion, concentration, problem solving abilities and helping build self-esteem.

Bir Cevap Yazın

